I have felt in my sweet spot on the volleyball court. I believe a person finds their “sweet spot” within their passion. Volleyball has always been my passion. I feel my strengths are magnified when I am playing the sport I love. Some of my strengths are utilized and amplified when I am playing because of the certain qualities I have possessed since adolescence. My strengths have been embedded in me and have only grown over time. In one of my classes this last year I was able to take an assessment, which gave me some character traits to match my strengths. My strengths that were given were: consistency, adaptability, competition, woo, and harmony. Being aware of my strengths has made me be able to utilize them and notice them.

I feel the area that is most out of my scope of strengths is “out of the box” type thinking. I am a creative thinker and I can come up with ideas but that “out of the box” type thinking is harder for me to tap into. My scopes of strengths thrive with people or in a team setting.

I really liked and enjoyed the YouTube video on strengths. I thought the three myths he described in his video were insightful. I had never thought that the strengths and personality traits we possess as children remain into adulthood. I had always thought that people change but my perspective has changed. I do agree that people’s personality traits stay the same because I feel most of the changes that occur are more development than change. People can change habits, looks, but they cannot change who they are and the traits they possess. 


5/14/2013 04:17:44 pm

Hello Kailey,

Fun fact about me... my name is Kilynn, but I go by Kiley. I also love volleyball. I am the varsity volleyball coach at a high school near Santa Cruz. Similar to you I grew up with sports being a part of my every day life. Many people grow up wanting to be professional athlete when talking about sports, but since I was 6, I wanted to be a coach.

I agree that if you know what your strengths are you learn how to utilize them better. That in return can benefit you, but also the people around you. God can also use your strengths (and weaknesses) so keep up the hard work. :)

Reply
5/18/2013 06:21:47 am

Kailey,

I completely agree with the example you used as your, "sweet spot." You are going to be a great college coach as well, the passion you had as a volleyball player is going to carry straight over to the sidelines! Not only the coaching aspect but the way you communicate with players, your passion will come out and you will push your girls towards chasing their dreams! I agree with your final thoughts as well that the character traits we have in our childhood stay with us into our adulthood! I also do not see any shame in that, it defined us as children and still defines us as adults!

Reply



Leave a Reply.