After reading all the articles about podcasts I really felt enlightened about them and all they can offer in education. I never had the need to use a podcast until I started my masters program because I had always simply gone to class everyday. However, I feel that podcasts could be very useful. In the article “Using Podcasts as Audio Learning Objects” they explain that podcasting may not be a new technology it has become newly innovative method of Web-based broadcasting. I agree that podcasting has become a new method that can be applied to student learning. I feel that when students have to be away for class for various activities it would be a useful tool to incorporate in classes. Having podcasts available for students would allow them to stay current with the class and not fall behind from missing classes. “Using Podcasts as Audio Learning Objectives” also explains that, the basic advantage of podcasting in education is the portability and convince of listening to learning resources anytime and anywhere without requiring extensive technical knowledge. This type of mobile learning is an advantage for the students and also makes it convenient for the teachers. 

   In the article, “History to Go: Why iTeachers with iPods” they explain that since students already use iPods for entertainment teachers should try to reach the students by playing to their strengths of this new technologically advanced generation of students. I have heard and seen schools even give out free iPods to students. Therefore, costs should not be an issue. I think the biggest problem with podcasting is the teachers. Most of the older teachers are not up on the newest and latest technology. Another issue with the new advanced technology is that some teachers don’t want to learn the new technology methods because they are used to their own ways they have done it for years and don’t want to change. Scott Sailor said, “We need to take a step toward students and start speaking their language”. The problem is not the new technology but rather the teachers who don’t know how or want to utilize it. Teachers need to understand and realize that technology and instantaneous learning is what students are becoming accustomed to and teachers need to rise to the occasion and as Scott Sailor said “speaking the language”.

Brandon Ellis
5/25/2013 05:59:50 am

Hello Kailey,

I enjoyed reading your thoughts on podcasting. I thought your point about teachers having a resistance to embracing new technology was very accurate. New mediums of discourse require teachers/coaches to adapt quickly while utilizing resources in ways that can enhance their programs. I feel somewhat in the middle of this shift in that part of me is nostalgic for chalk and blackboards, and part of me is excited about the ubiquitous cache of educational resources. I agree that teachers need to go where their students spend their time, by utilizing technology. Good luck to you in your coaching.

Sincerely,

Brandon Ellis

Reply
6/2/2013 07:09:11 am

I enjoyed your thoughts on pod cast. Technology is improving daily and with improvements we have to adapt to the new findings because the population we will be educating will be familiar with these technology forums. I also enjoy the pod cast feature because with text words could be taken out of context and using a podcast they can clearly hear what you mean, instead of interpreting what they think you mean by reading your text.

Reply



Leave a Reply.