I feel that microblogging is essential in the technological world we live in today. People communicate more thought multi-media than any other type of communication. I think being in a technological world has made things more convenient and easier. Parents are able to see what their kids are learning and doing in school because, of the new technology that is readily available. Athletes are also updated and more informed with the new technology available. However, there is a down side. NCAA rules are very strict about what can go up on athlete's personal Twitter, Facebook, and other multi-media webpages. While the new technology can enhance students and athletes it can also create problems for them. As long as athletes and students are representing themselves by modeling integrity; they should have no problems abiding by the strict protocol in the NCAA. 
5/13/2013 04:38:31 pm

Hey Kailey,
I really enjoyed reading your posting on micro-blogging. There was one thing you mention on how student-athletes need to be aware of what they put on their Facebook, twitter accounts, etc because it can come back and hunt them in a negative way. I would agree with you 100%! As a coach myself at Santa Barbara City College (women's basketball), I tell my players all the time to be careful what they put up on their social websites because not only does it reflect who they are as person but it also portrays and reflects our basketball program at SBCC. There was an incident this past month where I had to let go of one of my players for posting a picture that dealt with drug use on her instagram account. To me that is taking it to far. Now in days athletes can not separate their personal social life to their academic/athletic life. So therefore I agree with whatever an athlete puts up should have integrity and class.

Reply



Leave a Reply.