How has the Internet has impacted your own personal learning?
  • I think the Internet has allowed me to expand my personal learning because the Internet has made learning instantaneous. I have noticed that when I have questions or am curious about topics I find myself looking it up on the Internet to get answers. Anything that I am interested in knowing or learning is a simple click away. 
What sites do you go to regularly to learn new things?
  • I am constantly learning and finding answers on Google. Whenever I have questions or need to look up words I go to Google. I am also a regular learner on Translate Google. I love learning new languages and frequently find myself looking up ways to say words in other languages. I also use Easy-Bib to help me cite proper references for my papers and assignments in school. 
Are there authors or sites that you "follow?"
  • To be honest I didn’t know who had founded the websites I frequently visit. Threw some research I found that Easy-Bib is sponsored and run by Imagine Easy Solutions. I learned that Image Easy Solution was co founded by Darshan Somashekar and Neal Taparia. The two men who founded Google are Larry Page and Sergey Brin.
When does the Internet or the Web help your learning, and when does it distract from good learning for you?
  • I feel the Internet can be a very valuable tool. I think it offers advanced instantaneous learning. However, it can be a distraction. The world of the Internet is so big that there is a lot in its contents. With the Internet there is both good and positive aspects but there are also negative aspects. I think the Internet distracts from learning because of the videos, games, music, and more that seem to entice people more than learning. 
How do you feel about technology and learning?
  • I feel that technology has enhanced learning. I have noticed children who are so far advanced in reading, writing, math and more because of the technology programs that are offered. I believe the children of the technological age are going to be intellectually advanced because of the many skills they are learning at such a young age. Some of this technology is game related but most of the children’s programs are learning based and I feel this will benefit the next generations to come. 

Nikki Schrey
5/17/2013 05:53:11 am

I had to comment on this post because I genuinely appreciated your comment on using Google. I am the exact same way. There is not a day that goes by where I am not on Google looking something up. As you mentioned as well, the fact that the internet is able to provide a wealth of knowledge all in a click is amazing and the fact that it has impacted your personal learning is a great thing too. I look forward to reading more of what you will be sharing on your blog.

Regards,
Nikki

Reply



Leave a Reply.