I found the article “Generation Always-On” to be very interesting and insightful. The article overviews the thoughts and opinions of people about the new generation of people and the technological advances that is available to them. Are the Internet and other services going to enable or advance the next generation? I feel that there could be both. I feel the Internet and other technology has advanced the minds of children and allowed them to learn at a more rapid pace. The Internet has been a great resource for answers, information and learning. However, I feel Paul Gardener-Stephen statement about the Internet and the future generations was accurate. “The underlying issue is that they will become dependent on the Internet in order to solve problems and conduct their personal, professional, and civic lives”.

I believe the new “Generation Always-On” is going to become reliant on the technology and Internet.  I think this can effect education because the new generation may think, that without Google or other search engines, they wont be able to find answers. Many people of the young generation don’t even know how to find information in books or libraries anymore they solely depend on the Internet and the service it provides. I think the Internet also doesn’t allow for people to be as unique and creative anymore. I think the Internet provides a brilliant service to help solve problems and find answers but it doesn’t allow people to then think for themselves. They rely on others Internet ideas and input rather than trying to come up with their own individual ideas and solutions. I think the technology and Internet have been a great resource but it has also deterred problem solving and strategic thinking abilities. 




Leave a Reply.